Located in the heart of the Wheatbelt, the vibrant Kulin Region offers a fantastic array of visitor experiences and is a convenient stopover for those travelling to Wave Rock or between Perth and Esperance.

Telling the Tin Horse Highway Project

The Shire of Kulin and the Kulin community are proud to present ‘Telling the Tin Horse Highway’, an initiative that will allow visitors and locals to learn more about the unique inspirations, characters and events of the Wheatbelt’s most quirky tourist attraction – the Tin Horse Highway.

Not only does the Tin Horse Highway project aim to lift the visitor experience and provide ongoing economic benefits to the Kulin community, it will also work to preserve what has become a very important part of Kulin’s cultural heritage.  

A variety of initiatives are currently underway including a Visitor Facility in town that will share the stories behind the metal masterpieces and their makers. The initiatives recommended in the ‘Telling the Tin Horse Highway’ Interpretation Plan are being implemented in a staged process. 

This project has been made possible through the Wheatbelt Development Commission’s ‘Wheatbelt Regional Grant Scheme’.

Election 2019


At the Close of Nominations at 4pm on 12 September 2019, for the Local Government Election planned for 19 October 2019, I can advise that 5 nominations had been received.

As the number of nominations equalled the 5 Councillor positions vacant – the result of the election is a follows;

WARD                         CANDIDATE                            RESULT                        TERM EXPIRY

WEST WARD               Barry West                             Elected Unopposed                 2023

EAST WARD                 Lucia Varone                           Elected Unopposed                 2023

TOWN WARD              Roberta Bowey                       Elected Unopposed                 2023

TOWN WARD              Jarron Noble                           Elected Unopposed                 2023

CENTRAL WARD          Bradley Taylor                         Elected Unopposed                 2023

 I congratulate the candidates elect on their election.

Garrick Yandle

Returning Officer

12 September 2019

© Copyright 2019 Shire of Kulin | | Powered: PWD