Tanya Dupagne wins AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award 2017

Tanya Dupagne, Camp Kulin Founder and Director, has won the prestigious Rural Women Award of the Year 2017.

Camp Kulin began in 2013 after Tanya was invited to come to Kulin and check out the facilities to see if she would be interested in running camps in the town and utilise the fantastic facilities already established.  Tanya and Kulin Shire Council worked to develop Camp Kulin, a program that has gained national and international recognition for its pioneering work, particularly in helping children and teenagers who have survived trauma or face emotional challenges.

As the winner of the AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award, Tanya will receive a $10,000 bursary from Westpac (adding to the $10,000 bursary she received as the WA state winner) which she will use to establish her winning project – Camp Kulin Women’s Program.  “This program will target women living and working in rural and regional areas, providing personal development and leadership skills training to increase their self-esteem and equip them to take on leadership roles and initiate change in their own communities” said Tanya.

Barry West, Kulin Shire President, congratulates Tanya on winning this esteemed award.  “Tanya has developed Camp Kulin into a program that has received many accolades, however it is due to Tanya’s commitment and dedication which has ensured that this program makes life changing differences to those who attend”. 

“Camp Kulin is a fantastic initiative which is an unusual fit in a rural community.  It is wonderful for our town and region as it is an alternative industry that provides economic benefit.  Kulin community is extremely supportive of Camp Kulin, and are many individuals throughout Western Australia who have supported Camp Kulin through donations” said Barry.

Kulin Shire Council congratulate Tanya on achieving this award and it is a fitting recognition of the significant impact she has, and will continue to have, through Camp Kulin.


Photograph: Hon Barnaby Joyce MP, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources, Mrs Kay Hull AM, Chair of AgriFutures Australia, Tanya Dupagne, Winner 2017 Rural Women of the Year, Mr David Lindberg, Chief Executive, Business Bank - Westpac

For more information please contact us

© Copyright 2018 Shire of Kulin | | Powered: Digital Monopoly | Hosted: Perth Web Design